MINUTES OF PRESBYTERY JUNE 11, 2016 SPECIAL PRESBYTERY MEETING KEARNEY, NEBRASKA

The Presbytery of Central Nebraska meeting was called to order at 9:03 a.m. by Teaching Elder Stephen Price-Gibson, moderator, on June 11, 2016. The meeting was opened with prayer by Stephen Price-Gibson.

PRESBYTERY ATTENDANCE

Atkinson, First Aurora, Presbyterian UCC Axtell, First Beaver City, First Benkelman, First Broken Bow. First Campbell, Westminster United Central City, United Cozad. First Danbury, First Edgar, Church of the Plains Ewing, Bethany Ewing, UM-PC (USA) Fairfield, Community Fullerton, First Glenvil, Hanover Gothenburg, First Grand Island, First Hastings, First Hastings, Second Holdrege, First Kearney, First Kenesaw, First Keystone Lebanon, Community Lexington, First Lexington, Buffalo Grove Loup City, First Minden, Westminster United North Platte, First O'Neill, First Orleans, First St. Paul, First Stapleton, First

absent absent absent excused absent absent absent absent absent absent David Nienkamp absent Steve Miller excused excused absent absent absent absent Brian Johnson absent **Bill Walters** absent absent absent

Stuart, Community	absent
Superior, First	absent
Sutherland, First	absent
Valentine	Excused
Wood River, First	absent

TEACHING ELDER ATTENDANCE AT PRESBYTERY

Kathryn Bates	present
Elaine Besthorn	excused
Dawn Black	absent
Bruce Bradley	absent
David Boyd	present
Jill Boyd	present
Don Canady – HR	present
James Cooke – HR	excused
Dan Davis	present
Stuart Davis	absent
Ivan Dean	present
Steve Deines – HR	excused
Polly Deppen-Williams	present
Lisa Ewald	absent
John Gallentine	absent
Cynthia Harvey	absent
Cheryl Lamb	absent
Berke Landrum	absent
Karen Larson	excused
David Matheke – HR	excused
David McCarthy	excused
Joan McCarthy	absent
Doug McHargue	absent
Frank Medsker – HR	excused
Roger Nelson – HR	excused
William Nottage-Tacey	excused
Charles Olsen – HR	excused
Caroline Price-Gibson	present
Stephen Price-Gibson	present
Kirwin Stewart	present
Robert Thom – HR	excused
H. Eldin Wells – HR	present
Karen Woo	present
Gui-Jie Zhang	absent

COMMISSIONED RULING ELDER ATTENDANCE AT PRESBYTERY

Joyce Dean	present
Mark Diehl	absent

Marcine Farmer absent	
Beth Fotinos excused	d
Ethel Fox absent	
Dave Irwin absent	
Brad Jepsen absent	
David Johnson excused	d
Linda Lambert absent	
Phil LaRoe absent	
Gary Smith present	t
Keith Theobald absent	
Wayne Owens absent	
C.L.Wimer absent	

CERTIFIED ASSOCIATION OF PRESBYTERIAN ADMINISTRATORS Angie Palmer Rose Miller

CHAIRPERSONS OF COMMITTEES

Dean Kurth Dennis Biehl Steve Soundy

CORRESPONDING MEMBERS

VISITORS

Harry Cross

Stephen Miller was **APPOINTED** as Clerk Pro Tem by Stephen Price-Gibson, Moderator of Presbytery.

THE PRESBYTERY VOTED TO APPROVE Harry Cross to have voice at this meeting. Moderator Stephen Price Gibson stated the reason for the meeting today.

THE PRESBYTERY VOTED TO MOVE to meet as the committee of the whole. Rev. Dr. Deb DeMeester (Director of Leadership Development of the Synod of Lakes and Prairies) was the facilitator for the committee of the whole.

THE PRESBYTERY VOTED TO RECOMMEND to Presbytery:

- 1. ¹/₂ time designated executive presbyter (3 yr. minimum with possibility of becoming installed)
- 2. ¹/₄ time stated clerk (includes recording clerk) could be combined with EP
- 3. ¹/₂ time Administrative Assistant
- 4. Engage in long range planning/mission study process over next 3 years
- 5. Funds set aside for:
 - a. Expenses for pastoral care clusters/cohorts to provide pastoral care to TE and CREs
 - b. Special Presbytery Events

THE PRESBYTERY VOTED TO RECOMMEND to Council:

That council rewrites recommendation for presentation to Presbytery.

Presbytery VOTED to adjourn with prayer at 3:05PM

Stephen Miller Clerk Pro Tem